President's Message

It is March 2022. The SD Prowlers are doing well. We are excited to see things open up in the hot rod world. We have cautiously ventured to the Grand Nationsl Roadster Show and most recently the Early Times Mid- Winter Run. I heard today that Escondido's Cruisn' Grand event has been permitted and will commence on April 1...Hooray!!


The Prowlers are preparing to host our 75th Anniversary Picnic on Saturday June 4 at El Monte Park. We will have a live band (The Ideas) playing favorite oldies. Big Dev will be there with his famous BBQ truck. We will have event t-shirts and free dash plaques for participant cars while they last.

This event will cost $3 per car (for the park)


As many businesses discovered adapting to pandemic restrictions there were new ways to do things. We had to give up meeting in our comfortable indoor restaurant and chose the outdoor setting at El Monte County Park in Lakeside, CA. Attesting to So Cal reputation for nice weather, we have not missed a meeting and at least half the members drive their hot rods. As of our meeting tomorrow March 3, 2022 we will have met 43 times outside with no rain. 


We will keep you posted here. Until then, Keep the Shiney Side Up!

Want to Become a Member?

Are you interested in becoming a member but still have some questions? For more information, just email us at . We look forward to hearing from you!



Upcoming Events Short List !

Labor Day  Swap @ Santee Drive-in

Apr 1-3     Del mar Good Guys

May 5      Freddy Castro Remembrance

May 11    Cajon Cruise 

June 4     Prowler 75th Anniversary

Prowlers Create Special Trophies for Car Shows

The San Diego Prowlers Hot Rod Club, just can't seem to do things like other clubs.  At our 60th Annual Picnic and Car Show, the club decided that we should make all of the trophies that we gave out.


We have some very talended metal workers in the club.  Most notably - Monte Hale and Bob Smith.  I guess they just couldn't find enough fenders to bank out or frames to box.  They "volunteered" (coaxed into doing it by an envious club) and came up with some of the best trophies that any of us ever saw.


The trophies are shown below with the named winner from the Annual Picnic.






Richard Torres was the winner of the "Best 1957" trophy.






Jim Jenkins with the North County Cruisers Club received the "Best T" trophy.






Joe LaPorte received the "Best HiBoy" trophy.  It was a beautiful car.

Congratulations Joe.






Dick Secor's 1932 Ford was chosen to receive the "Best '32" trophy.

Great work on that car Dick.







The trophy for the "Best Original" was taken home by Ivan Miller.







Joe Free was chosen to receive the "Best Coupe" trophy.

What an amazing car, Joe.





Juston Vos brought home the "Best Rat Rod".  It was a thing to marvel at, Juston.  We just hope you get it home in one piece.  (Chuckle!!)






The trophy for the "Best Custom" was given to Bob Allen.  This car was a real looker with fantastic workmanship.






The "Best Truck" award was hauled away by Jordon Quintal.  Honestly, you should have seen this truck ... fantastic.





John Vinta (from Roseburg, Oregon won the trophy for "Long Distance".  Thanks for coming John.





The car club "Country Gents" won the trophy for the club with the "Most Cars".




The "Best of the Show" trophy is chosen by all of the Prowlers through a special voting process during the day.  We are pretty finicky about who gets this baby.  When it was all said and done, the "Prowler Pick" trophy went to Harry and Josh Jackman for their absolutely beautiful 1932 Ford Sports Coupe.


Congratulations guys!

The Prowlers want to thank Monte Hale and Bob Smith for the many hours of work they put into making these trophies.  They were stunning in person.